

Presidential Decree (4/2006) Establishing the National Council for the Coordination of Disarmament, Demobilization and Reintegration

Annex 21

PRESIDENCY OF THE REPUBLIC

PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. (4) FOR THE YEAR 2006

ESTABLISHMENT AND COMPOSITION OF THE NATIONAL COUNCIL FOR THE CCORDINATION OF DISARMAMENT, DEMOBILZATION AND REINTIGRATION

President of the republic,

In accordance with the provisions of Article 58 (1) (m) and Article 225 of the interim constitution of the Republic of the Sudan for 2005 and, after perusal of the Presidential Decree No. 34/2005, I hereby issue the following Decree:

Title and Commencement:

1- This Decree may be cited as "Provisional Decree No. 4 for 2006 for the establishment and composition of the National Council for the Coordination of Disarmament, Demobilization and Reintegration", and shall come into force as of the date of its signature.

Interpretations:

2- In this Decree, and unless otherwise stipulated, the following words shall have the meanings set against each of them:

'Council': means the National Council for the Coordination of Disarmament, Demobilization and Reintegration. "Commissions": means commissions of DDR in the North

and the South

Composition:

The Council shall be composed of the following:
a- Minister of the Presidency of the Republic,
b-Minister of the Federal Governance,
c-Minister of DefenseChairman
Memberd-Minister of Finance and National EconomyMember

len

Annex 21

e-Minister of Health f-Minister of Humanitarian Affairs	Member Member
g-Minister of Labor, Public Service and Human Resources	
Development	Member
h-Minister of Social Welfare, Child and Women	
Affairs	Member
i-State Minister, Ministry of the Interior	Member
j-State Minister, Ministry international Cooperation	Member
k-Minister of Finance, GoSS	Member
l-Chief of Staff, SAF	Member
m-Chief of Staff, SPLA	Member
n-DDR Commissioner General, North	Member
o-DDR Commissioner General, South	Member
p-Six public figures appointed by the presidency of the Republic	Members

Competencies:

15+6

4-(1) The Council shall have the following competencies:

a- Approval of DDR policies presented to it by concerned quarters.

b- Set up Reintegration policies and supervising the implementation of those policies in collaboration with the concerned quarters.

c- Review and evaluation of progress made in the workings of Commissions and coordination of inter-commission work.

d- Raising regular reports to the Presidency of the Republic (2) The Council shall be accountable to the Presidency of the Republic.

5-Meetings:

The Council shall meet regularly once every six months. The Chairman may call the Council for emergency meetings or, upon the request of half its membership.

6-Establishment of a Secretariat:

The Council may appoint a Secretariat for the purpose of documentation of its deliberations and resolutions and, the



Annex 21

following up of their implementation under the supervision of the Chairman.

7-Budget:

The Ministry of Finance and National Economy, GoNU and the Ministry of Finance, GoSS are to provide the necessary funding for the Council.

8-Seat

The seat of the Council shall be in Khartoum, and may convene in any place.

9-Rules

The Council may issue rules to regulate the running of its work.

Issued under my signature on 16 Muharram 1427 H, i.e. 15th of February 2006 General Omar Hasan Ahmed Albasheer President of the Republic

