Eastern Equatoria State Profile

1. General context:

The headquarters for the Sudan People's Liberation Army (SPLA) was based in Eastern Equatoria State from 1990 to 2001, in Chukudum in Budy County. During the war, the state was one of the most intense battlegrounds between the SPLA and the Sudan Armed Forces (SAF), but also between the SPLA and Equatoria Defence Forces, Lorot (Didinka) and Toposa militias. Magwi County also hosted the Lord's Resistance Army (LRA) until they moved to the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) in 2006. Most of the tensions between the SPLA and local populations are based and fuelled on the ethnic Dinka domination of key SPLA positions, and their takeover of commercial roads and businesses (legal and illegal) during the war to secure their logistical chains from Kenya and Uganda. Since the LRA's departure, and the 2006 disarmament and reintegration of various militia groups, the security situation remains calm, though all ethnic groups are still in possession of weapons (light and heavy). ¹

The state shares a common border with Kenya (through which it has access to the sea) and Uganda, and both countries provide military support to the SPLA. Due to the state's strategic military importance for South Sudan during the 2010 elections, both the Sudan People's Liberation Movement (SPLM) and the National Congress Party (NCP) had a strong interest in the state. Before and during the 2010 elections, the SPLM considered several counties as being possibly loyal to the opposition (NCP and independent candidates). Consequently, SPLA forces have been conducting an intimidation campaign against the civilian population and have also replaced several County Commissioners. This has resulted in tensions between SPLA forces, state administration and the population.²

Eastern Equatoria State is one of the states most affected by food insecurity due to the 2009/2010 rainfall shortages. The immediate impact of this general food insecurity has been an increase in inter-ethnic violence and conflicts, as well as an increase in acts of banditry. According to a 2010 Annual Needs and Livelihoods Assessment report, 72% of households in the state are affected by the food crisis (30% with severe food insecurity, and 42% with moderate food insecurity). The lack of rain not only affected food security for households, but also grazing land and water points' availability for pastoralist activities. This competition over natural resources especially affects relations between pastoralist ethnic groups, such as the Toposa, Buya and Logir. To lower tensions between Toposa, Boya and Didinka ethnic groups in Kapoeta East and Budi counties, a peace conference was hold in Lauro in 2009. However, as resolutions are not being implemented by the communities' traditional

¹ Sources: Small Arms Survey (Violent Legacies: insecurity in Sudan's Central and Eastern Equatoria (2008), Gauging Fear and Insecurity: Perspectives on Armed Violence in Eastern Equatoria and Turkana North (2008), Symptoms and causes: Insecurity and Underdevelopment in Eastern Equatoria (2010)); Afrika Focus (Governance, violence and the struggle for economic regulation in South Sudan: the case of Budi County, (2008))

² Sources: UNMIS HRU; CAS.

³ Sources: FAO; SSRRC; FEWNET.

chiefs nor the Government, tensions remain and are fuelled further. In June 2010, a new round of negotiations was initiated.⁴

As the food security crisis is also affecting northern Kenya and Uganda, there sporadic conflicts over natural resources between the Toposa and the Turkana from Kenya. In addition to the food crisis, the high unemployment rate among youth is affecting inter- and intra-ethnic group relations, especially in Torit County.⁵

2. State Government

NAME/SURNAME	TITLE	PARTY	ETHNIC GROUP	
Louis Lobong Lojore	State Governor	SPLM	Toposa, Kapoeta East	
Nartisio Loluke Manir	Deputy Governor, Minister of Local Government & Law Enforcement	SPLM	Lopit (Lafon)	
Nasike Allan Lochul	Minister of Information, Communications & Culture	SPLM		
Jerome Gama Surur	Minister of Agriculture, Forestry & Animal Resources	SPLM	Madhi (Magwi)	
Emillio William Odinga	Minister of Public Services, Labour & Human Development		Buya (Budi)	
Sam Felix Makucha	Minister of Health	SPLM		
Josephine Akulang Abalang	Minister of Finance & Planning	SPLM	Logir (Ikotos)	
Michael Lopuke Lotyam	Minister of Education, Science & Technology	SPLM		
Peter Karlo Otim	Minister of Transport & Roads	SPLM	Achli (Magwi)	
Magdalene Beate Atiol	Minister of Culture & Social Development	SPLM		
George Echom Ekeno	Minister of Environment, Wildlife Conservation & Tourism	SPLM	Nyangatom (Kapoeta East)	
Mark Akio Ukinbul	Minister of Housing & Public Utilities	SPLM	(Lafon)	

Sources: State Governor's Office (Government of Eastern Equatoria State Governor's Decree n2/2010); UNMIS CAS

County Commissioners

⁵ Sources: UNDP CSAC

⁴ Sources: UNMIS HRU; CAS

Counties	Name	Political party	Ethnic group
Magwi	Peter Ochilo	SPLM	Acholi
Lafon	Caesar Oromo Urbano	SPLM	
Torit	Felix Otuduha	SPLM	Latuka
Ikotos	Peter Lokeng	SPLM	
Budi	Joseph Kamilio	SPLM	Buya
Kapoeta East	Titos Lockwacuma	SPLM	Toposa
Kapoeta South	Martin Lorika Lojam	SPLM	Toposa
Kapoeta North	Lokai Iko	SPLM	Toposa

Source: State Governor's Office (Government of Eastern Equatoria State Governor's Decree n3/2010); UNMIS CAS

Contact list:

Government:

NAME/SURNAME	TITLE TELEF		EPHONE
Louis Lobong Lojore	State Governor		
		092	7921962
Nartisio Loluke Manir	Deputy Governor		
	Minister of Local Government & Law Enforcement		
Nasike Allan Lochul	Minister of Information, Communications & Culture	092	524121
Jerome Gama Surur	Minister of Agriculture, Forestry & Animal Resources	091	517883
Emillio William Odinga	Minister of Public Services, Labour & Human		
	Development	095	5142650
Sam Felix Makucha	Minister of Health	091	0062801
Josephine Akulang	Minister of Finance & Planning.		
Abalang		091	579233
Michael Lopuke Lotyam	Minister of Education, Science & Technology	091	0080778
Peter Karlo Otim	Minister of Transport & Roads		
Magdalene Beate Atiol	Minister of Culture & Social Development	091	9875795
	Minister of Environment, Wildlife Conservation &	•	
George Echom Ekeno	Tourism		
Mark Akio Ukinbul	Minister of Housing & Public Utilities		

County Commissioners:

County	Name	Zain	Vivacell	Gemtel	Sudani
Com. HQ	Cde Wilson Lulup	917225258			
Magwi	Cde Ochilo				128961110
Ikotos	Cde Peter Lokeng	907364221			
Lafon/ Lopa	Cde Caesar Oromo Urbano	917224207			
Kapoeta South	Cde Martin Lorika	918041502			
Kapoeta North	Cde Lokai Iko	910026027			
Kapoeta East	Cde Titos Lokwacuma	912370244			

Torit	Cde Felix Otuduha	918925109	955039080	
Budi	Cde Joseph Kamilio	917113017		

June 2010