

Southern Sudan Referendum Commission

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Southern Sudan Referendum Commission (SSRC)?

The Commission is an ad hoc body created under the provisions of the Southern Sudan Referendum Act of 2009 to organize and conduct the Southern Sudan referendum on self-determination, as stipulated in the Comprehensive Peace Agreement.

How is SSRC made up?

The Commission has nine members (Commissioners) who were appointed by Sudanese President Omar Al-Bashir with the consent of First Vice-President Salva Kiir Mayardit as well as the National Legislature.

The SSRC Deputy Chairperson is the Chairperson of the Commission's office in Juba, the Southern Sudan Referendum Bureau. The Commissioners' terms expire at the end of the interim period (once the referendum has taken place).

Who are the members of the SSRC?

The Commissioners are Mohammed Ibrahim Khalil, Chairperson, Chan Reec Madut, Deputy Chairperson (and Chairperson of the Southern Sudan Referendum Bureau), Paulino Wanawilla Unango, Lt. Gen. (retired) Tariq Osman, Deng Awur Wenyin, Suad Ibrahim Eisa, Lual Chany Chol, Sabit Alley and Kamal Ali Mohamed Saleh.

What are the eligibility criteria for Commissioners?

The Commissioners must be Sudanese by birth; well-known for independence, competence, non-partisanship and impartiality; at least 40 years of age; of sound mind; literate; and not convicted of a crime involving honesty or moral turpitude (even if

pardoned).

Is the SSRC an independent body?

The SSRC is financially, administratively and technically independent. It performs its functions and duties independently, impartially and transparently, without interference from any other body in its affairs, business or functions, or any limitation of its powers.

Commission decisions are taken by majority vote of members present. The chairperson can break a tie vote as long as at least half the members are present.

The Commission has an independent budget prepared according to relevant principles observed by the state, which is subject to regular audits by the National Audits Chamber at the end of each fiscal year and at the end of the referendum.

What are the specific responsibilities of the SSRC?

According to the Southern Sudan Referendum Act of 2009, the SSRC is responsible for the:

- Referendum: Regulating and supervising the Southern Sudan referendum;
- Referendum register: Preparing, revising, approving and keeping the list of eligible voters and issuing registration cards;
- Rules and regulations: Issuing general rules for referendum and taking executive measures to carry them out;
- Procedures: Issuing procedures for organization of the referendum and accreditation of observers:

- Referendum duration: Extending the polling period (set for seven days), if substantive reasons exist, to enable voters to exercise their right to vote with the utmost degree of freedom and secrecy;
- Sorting and counting: Controlling the sorting and counting of ballots, the aggregation of preliminary referendum results and declaration of referendum final results;
- Postponement of referendum procedures: Postponing any referendum procedures for any compelling situation with the consent of the Government of Sudan and the Government of Southern Sudan:
- Cancellation of results: Cancelling any referendum result in any referendum centre by an order of the court;
- Punishment: Taking necessary action against any person who violates the referendum law, including referendum officials or workers who violate the law or any rules or regulations established by the SSRC.

Who will be administering the referendum?

The SSRC is based in Khartoum and has a bureau (The Southern Sudan Referendum Bureau) based in Juba. The Commission has a staff (the Secretariat General) headed by a Secretary-General appointed by President Bashir with consent of First Vice-President Kiir on recommendation of the SSRC. The Secretary-General has two assistants, one Khartoum and one in Juba.

On the recommendation of the Southern Sudan Referendum Bureau (SSRB), the SSRC has formed High Committees in each southern state, consisting of a chairperson and four members. The State High Committees are totally independent from any executive bodies or legislative assemblies.

Each State High Committee, with the consent of the SSRB, has formed a sub-committee in each county. On the recommendation of the sub-committees, State High Committees will form referendum centres at the county level to conduct registration, polling, sorting,

counting and declaration of the results.

Will the SSRC open referendum centres outside Southern Sudan?

The Commission will establish referendum centres outside the south, provided that the number of registered voters in each centre is at least 20,000. If the number is less than 20,000, a referendum centre will be open in the capital of the concerned state in North Sudan and the countries of emigration -- Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Australia, Britain, United States of America, Canada and Egypt.

UNITED NATIONS MISSION IN SUDAN

Ebeid Khatim Street P.O. Box 69 Khartoum, 1111 Sudan

PHONE: (249) 187-086000

FAX:
- Inside Sudan: 0 187 086200
- Outside Sudan: +1 917 3673523

E-MAIL: ecomment-pio@un.org

We're on the Web! See us at: www.unmis.org